Advice 1: How to restore initial settings

With the release of the new operating system from Microsoft, a growing number of dissatisfied with the new start menu. As you may have guessed, we are talking about the new operating system Windows 7. Many users would like to return the classic start menu, familiar to us since Windows XP. There are many programs that will help you to configure everything in different OS. But you can do without them. Now we'll show you how to get back classic start menu "All programs" without the use of special and usually expensive tools.
How to restore initial settings
Instruction
1
Click "start". In the search box type "regedit" and press "Enter".
2
Follow the registry tree, locate the following key:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders".
3
Double-click the left button of the mouse on the key "Favorites" in the right table.

Adjust the value of the field "Value data" to the following value: "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs" and click "OK".
4
Below find the key: "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders". Also twice click on the key "Favorites" in the right table.

Change the "value data" to "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs" and click "OK".
5
After all the registry changes are saved, close the registry editor.
6
Go to properties of the start menu". To do this, click the right mouse button and select "Properties".
7
In the opened window select the tab "start Menu", click "Configure".
8
Check the favorites menu, click OK.
9
Now we need to save all changes and reboot the computer.
10
After the computer restarts, you will see that in the right part of the start menu appeared, the "Programs" section. As in Windows XP, this menu will display all programs that are installed on the computer.
11
Unfortunately, now the start menu will not be exactly the same as in Windows XP, but, at least, the search programs will be more familiar and comfortable.
Note
Since this method involves registry settings, it is advisable to first make a backup copy of the registry.
Useful advice
If anything you do not like or just want something new, you can use a backup copy of the registry. After you restore all registry settings back to the original.

Advice 2 : How to restore all settings Windows

The return to the standard settings of the operating system is not so time-consuming process. This is often required in cases when it is impossible to figure out what the changes adversely affected system operation.
How to restore all settings Windows
Instruction
1
Save all you need for further work the files used in the applications. Save also the necessary account settings, logins and passwords from browsers ' visited pages, links to interesting resources, because the rollback the system to its original settings will wipe out changes made by the user to the current moment.
2
Complete work on the documents, saving all changes. Click start, point to programs. Go further in the directory to accessories, and then system tools. Select "system restore".
3
In appearing before you on the screen window on the right select the item "Restore an earlier state of the computer." Click next. In the new window you will see a calendar of previously-created system restore points. Some of them were created by you, and some automatically, for example, before you install any programs that could affect the operation of the system. You can also choose any other date to restore, but to return to the original settings it is best to return to the first position.
4
Use the arrows to scroll through the calendar you create recovery points at the date of the very first. If this day was made to create two control points, select the one that was produced in the beginning.
5
Click "Next". Carefully read the warning about the consequences of carrying out a system restore to the original condition or at any chosen moment.
6
Click next, thereby triggering the reconstruction process of the system. Wait until the program will perform all the necessary operations and restart the computer.
Note
Be careful, the recoil system means the complete removal of all the installed programs during the period of use of the system.
Useful advice
Often perform a checkpoint, including when installing an operating system.

Advice 3 : How to restore a restore point

Erroneous actions at work on the computer can lead to unstable operation. In order to cancel them and avoid the negative consequences, has the function to restore the system.
How to restore a restore point
You will need
  • computer.
Instruction
1
Rollback is intended to return the state of the operating system for normal operation. This is possible by creating a point of recoverythat capture the state of the system at any particular point in time. These points are created automatically once per day or upon the occurrence of certain system events. Also it is possible to create them manually. This can be done in the following way: "Master recovery system" → "Create point restore" → "Description of the control point" → "Create".
2
To save them you'll need at least 300 MB of free hard disk space. They are stored until then, until you filled the disk space that is reserved for the recovery system. Decreasing space of the old points are deleted to make room for the new.
3
The advantage of this feature is the ability to restore the healthy state of the system without reinstalling Windows.
4
To start this function you have the following options:— "start Menu" → "All programs" → "Standard" → "Service" → "system Restore";— "start" → "help and support" → "Select" → "undo changes with system Restore";— "start" → "Run" → "open Box" → %SystemRoot%system32 estore strui.exe
5
Running the application, in the opened window you must select "Restore an earlier state of the computer" and click Next. In the window "Select of control points recovery" select the point to which you want to restore the system. Then confirm her choice and the process of recovery. The process to start.
6
When ready, the system will perform a reboot. After that, a window will appear which will contain information about how the restoration happened. In this case, there can be only two choices: was it successful or did not happen.
7
There is a possibility to cancel that process. There is a option "Undo this restoration".
Note
Before using this function, you must save the files and close all running programs. Restore does not affect personal files, such as documents,photos or email messages. This process can take quite a long period of time.
Is the advice useful?
Search