Changes made to the Constitution of the Russian Federation under Boris Yeltsin

On 9 January 1996 by the decree of the President of the Russian Federation, the Ingush Republic and North Ossetia became known as the Republic of Ingushetia and the Republic of Ossetia-Alania. This decision was made on the basis of public authorities of a number of subjects of the Russian Federation.

10 January 1996 instead of the name Republic of Kalmykia – Khalmg Tangch was given the name Republic of Kalmykia.

What changes in the Constitution made in the Vladimir Putin from 2000-2008

In 2001, the Chuvash Republic – Chavash was called the Chuvash Republic – Chuvashia. In 2003 Khanty-Mansi Autonomous district received the name Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Okrug-Yugra.

In 2004, Perm oblast and Komi-Permyak Autonomous Okrug were United in one Federation and became the Perm region.

14 Oct 2005 the Taimyr (Dolgan-Nenets) Autonomous Okrug and Evenk Autonomous Okrug, was excluded from the Constitution. These two districts were included in Krasnoyarsk region.

Taimyr Dolgano-Nenets Autonomous Okrug until January 1, 2007 though was part of the Krasnoyarsk region, but, nevertheless, was an independent subject of the Russian Federation. The merger of the Krasnoyarsk territory of the two Autonomous regions took place according to the results of the referendum, which was held on 17 April 2005.

Enterprises of constituent entities of the Russian Federation continued in 2006, when instead of two items of Kamchatka oblast and Koryak Autonomous Okrug, in the Russian Constitution appeared the name of the Kamchatka Krai.

30 Dec 2006 Ust-Orda Buryat Autonomous Okrug became part of the Irkutsk region.

Zabaykalsky Krai was formed through the merger of Chita oblast and Agin-Buryat Autonomous Okrug. Appropriate changes to the Constitution were introduced on 21 June 2007.

The changes adopted in D. A. Medvedev in 2008

In 2008, speaking with a Message to the Federal Assembly, Russian President Dmitry Medvedev proposed to amend Russia's Constitution a number of amendments, which are then long discussed in the community. Medvedev proposed increasing the presidential term from 4 to 6 years, and the state Duma from 4 to 5 years.

In addition, he also proposed a constitutional to oblige the Russian government to make an annual report to the state Duma about the real results of their activities and to answer questions raised by the State Duma.

These amendments were ratified by the lower house of Parliament, and came into force on 31 December 2008.

Constitutional changes in 2014

7 Oct 2013 Russian President Vladimir Putin submitted to the state Duma a draft law on the amendment of the Constitution, which would have allowed the merger of the Higher arbitration court and the Supreme court, and expanding the powers of the RF President on the appointment of prosecutors. These amendments were adopted and entered into force on 6 February 2014.

July 21, 2014, an amendment to the Constitution that allows the President of the Russian Federation to enter the Council of Federation of up to 10% of designated representatives.