The history and essence of the European Union

EU or the EU in Russian, is an international Association that can remind the government one of the signs and the organization for others, but really this is something third. The European Union is not a subject of international law, but he is involved in international relations.

The idea that European States should unite, were present in the minds of people since ancient times. Various military associations were created and dissolved, but seriously about the establishment of a unified peace organizations policy thinking after the end of the first world war. But at that time all was limited to just discussions. The real action began with the establishment in 1951 of the European coal and steel community, whose goals were purely economic. It included Germany, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Italy and Luxembourg. The community has been very successful, so the decision was made to spread the word about the Association and to other areas of life. In 1957, created a community of atomic energy. In 1967 appeared the basic structure, which later became the European Commission, Council, Court and Parliament.

In the future, was signed the Treaty of Maastricht of 1992, which stipulated the basic regulations for the European Union. They were designated as intergovernmental cooperation in international and security policy, justice and domestic Affairs. Also the issue was resolved with a single currency. Then they discussed further details in the end was signed the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1997. EU enlargement and the inclusion of new countries-members is the task of the 21st century.

The EU countries

In 1958, six countries (Belgium, Italy, Germany, France, the Netherlands and Luxembourg) signed the Treaty of the European economic community and the Euro community on issues of nuclear energy. These two communities became the basis of the European Union.

In 1973, the European Union joined Denmark, UK and Ireland. In 1981, the Union entered Greece. In 1986 he joined Spain and Portugal. In 1995, the European Union includes Austria, Sweden and Finland. A number of countries have applied for membership, they started to improve their economic and social structure. In 2004 the EU was joined by Hungary, Cyprus, Lithuania, Latvia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Malta, Slovenia, Slovakia, Poland. In 2005 the European Union entered Macedonia. In 2007 he was accepted Romania and Bulgaria.

It should be understood that the European Union and the Schengen agreement is not the same thing. Some countries belong to both unions, some only in one. There is also a zone of Euro, not all countries from the European Union enter into it.