Advice 1: How to remove Ubuntu

Various Linux distributions are increasingly being pre-installed on new computers and laptops. This is not surprising, because Linux is free software, meaning it is completely free, and so the price of this laptop will be significantly lower than its counterpart that comes with Windows.

Ubuntu provides the user with generally the same functionality as Windows, allowing you to view Internet sites via browser, receive email, working with office and graphics applications, no way inferior to their Windows-counterparts. However, not everyone is ready to migrate to Linux, pereuchivatsya to work with unfamiliar operating system and new applications. Experiments on the transition to Linux is also not always satisfied with the started their own results. In addition, it is sometimes necessary to remove Ubuntu to try to install any other Linux distribution, for example Gentoo. So, very often the question arises, how to remove Ubuntu from computer or laptop.




To remove Ubuntu, you must:



  1. Download Ubuntu.

  2. Make backup of all important documents, archives and other files, the loss of which can be an unpleasant surprise. Better save them to any external media such as a USB flash drive, or a drive other than the system disk installed on your Ubuntu computer.

  3. Run the command " sudo gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg

  4. In the opened configuration file related to remove the Ubuntu line.

  5. Restore the Windows boot loader. This can be done using the Recovery Console command fixmbr and fixboot c:

  6. As a result, after rebooting, the Ubuntu boot option will be missing and you will be able to boot into Windows (of course, if this operating system already present on the computer as an alternative).


If Windows on your computer is missing, simply install the operating system in a standard way.

To permanently remove Ubuntu after Windows startup, format the relevant partition to NTFS. This will free up space in Ubuntu previously, to embed files and folders in Windows.

Advice 2: How to remove ubuntu user

Ubuntu is a modern multiuser operating system based on Linux kernel. It is easy to install and upgrade software, a high level of security and flexible management of user accounts.
How to remove ubuntu user
You will need
  • Computer with Ubuntu, root access or sudo.
Instruction
1
In Ubuntu there is a very handy utility for deleting a user from the command line - deluser. It is specially sharpened under operation in the command line interface to the userdel utility. To run deluser rights are required superuser, which you can obtain by logging in as root or using the sudo command. To delete user Ubuntu, run the command in the terminal: sudo deluser user_name yegamediev – name of a deleted user. After the execution of command will delete a standard account user, and he will not be able to enter the system. It would remain his home directory and all the files that belong to him.
2
To delete user Ubuntu, along with its home directory and mailbox, and add after the command deluser --remove-home. If you want to remove not only the home directory, but all files a user in the system, use the options --remove-home --remove-all-files. With this key deluser utility will find all files and directories owned by the deleted user and deleted them, including the home directory.
3
If you want to delete user with his home directory, or all files, but want to keep them just in case, use the option --backup. With this key, before deleting the file user, they will be copied into a compressed tar archive that will be created when you delete the account in the current directory. To specify a different location for the archive file user, select the desired directory after the --backup-to.
4
If you want to remove user root, add the command with --force. This key confirms that the removal of the root user is not an error. Without --force to delete the user root cannot be.
5
User in Ubuntu you can delete through the GUI. To do this, click "administrative tools" in the start menu "System" and select "Users and groups". On the screen opens a program account management. Select the useryou want to remove in the left list and click "Remove". In the process of removing a user you can also choose to save the files user or to remove it together with the account.
Useful advice
To change the default settings for deluser utility, you can in the file /etc/deluser.conf
Is the advice useful?
Search