Advice 1: That means an eight-pointed star

The eight-pointed star – a symbol that has existed in many different cultures. It was used by the Babylonians, Christians, Egyptians, agnostics, Hindus, Buddhists. It can be seen on national flags and in religious iconography.
The eight-pointed star is one of the symbols of Islam
Depending on the culture that gave it birth, the eight-pointed star may have a different value. A symbol closely associated with the group of eight. The number eight is present in the Buddha's teachings as the noble eightfold path. In Chinese culture, there are eight immortal gods. The universal significance of the group of eight – a balance, harmony and cosmic order.

The symbol is embodied as designations to the stars in early astronomy, and human attempts to represent cosmic order and unity, which are present in the creation of the world. It is simultaneously religious, astronomical and mystical sign.

The Symbolism Of Ancient Babylon

The ancient Babylonians eight-pointed star was a symbol of the goddess Ishtar, which is also associated with the planet Venus. Ishtar is often compared to the Greek goddess Aphrodite or the Roman Venus. All these goddesses personified the love and desire, but Ishtar was also the patron of fertility and war.

The Judeo-Christian tradition

The number eight is often associated the Jews with the beginnings, resurrection, salvation, and abundance. This is due to the fact that seven symbolizes completion. For example, the eighth day is the beginning of a new week. And, keeping God's Covenant, a Jewish child on the eighth day passes through circumcision.

Eight Egyptian gods

The Egyptians of the old Kingdom honored a group of eight gods, four goddesses and four gods. Each divine pair represented the original force or substance, and together they created the world. This eight gods served as examples, borrowed other cultures, which, in turn, portrayed her in a star-octagon.

The Star Of Lakshmi

In Hinduism goddess of wealth Lakshmi is surrounded by a halo of eight rays. They are represented by two squares superimposed on each other and form a star. These rays represent the eight types of wealth, namely money, the ability to overcome distance, endless prosperity, victory, patience, health and nutrition, knowledge and family.

Intersecting squares

When you meet two stacked on top of each square, the symbol often emphasizes duality: Yin and Yang, feminine and masculine, spiritual and material. Squares often point to physical phenomena: the four elements, compass directions.

The star of chaos

The star of chaos is a star with eight emanating from the center rays. The symbol invented by the English writer Michael Moorcock to denote chaos. Despite the literary origin of the symbol, it can often be seen in a variety of contexts, from magic to religion.

The symbolism of Buddhism

In Buddhism, the eight-pointed star inscribed in the symbol of the "wheel of Dharma". In turn, the wheel symbolizes the Buddha's teachings on the eight virtues as possible to get rid of attachments and related suffering. These virtues are right view, right intention, right speech, right behavior, right life, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

Advice 2: The essence of Buddhism

Buddhism is one of the most common and revered in the world of religion. Particularly popular is the doctrine received among the broad masses of the population of East, Southeast and Central Asia. The word "Buddhism" comes from the Sanskrit "Buddha" means "enlightened one." The essence of Buddhism outlined in the noble truths, given to humanity by the Buddha.
The essence of Buddhism

Buddhism – path to enlightenment

Adherents of Buddhism believe that every person who has attained the highest Holiness, is able to become a Buddha – enlightened. The legend says that after many successive rebirths, the Buddha, following the will of the gods decided to descend to earth and tell the people the true way to salvation. For the latest of his birth, the Buddha chose the Royal family of Gautama, who once lived in the Northern part of India.

Buddha, incarnated in man, knew the real cause of human suffering and found a way of getting rid of him, while Mara, the demon of evil, all the forces trying to prevent it. The Buddha was able to defeat the Mara, after which he delivered his famous sermon, where he presented the foundations of a new religion. Those who listened to the sermons of the Buddha, joined a wandering group of monks and disciples of the enlightened.
Forty years surrounded by disciples went to the Buddha in the villages and cities, preaching his doctrine and performing miracles. The death he met at a very old age.

The essence of the Buddhist creed

The Central position of Buddhism – the idea that existence and suffering are equal and identical. This creed did not reject the idea of the transmigration of souls, adopted Brahmanism, and only made some changes. Buddhists believe that every transformation and in General any kind of life – inevitable and inevitable evil and misfortune.
The highest goal of every Buddhist is the cessation of rebirth and the achievement of complete non-existence called Nirvana.

Not everyone, according to the Buddhists, it is possible to achieve the state of Nirvana in its current rebirth. The path of spiritual recovery can be very long. And each time, embodied in the new creature, man ascends to the supernal wisdom, gradually entering the vicious cycle of life and closing the chain of rebirths.

The most important thing in Buddhism – the knowledge of the essence and the first cause of being, i.e., suffering. Buddhism claims that he knows the only way to salvation, the attainment of nonexistence and the complete cessation of human suffering.

It is believed that the Buddha proclaimed the four noble truths. The main of them says that any existence is suffering. The second asserts that the cause of suffering is inherently in human nature. The third point is that suffering cannot be stopped. The last noble truth consists in pointing out the true way to salvation, consisting in the contemplation and meditation – a kind of immersion in itself.

Sign of identity, which puts Buddhism is between suffering and being, brings the whole picture of the world to a rather hopeless existence where each being is doomed to lifelong suffering and destruction. In this case, any joy only intensifies the attachment to temporal being, and hides in itself a danger to re-enter the path of endless rebirths.
Is the advice useful?