Products that are excluded during lent

In the list of products that the Church forbids to eat during lent, are all, for the production of which used raw materials of animal origin. First, the ban applies to meat and any meat products, and poultry and eggs. Banned milk and all that is connected with it: butter, sour cream, cheese, dairy products and beverages, and cheeses. In the post it is forbidden to eat pasta, white and sweet bread, cakes, cookies, waffles, and any pastry that contains butter, eggs and milk. Don't forget that you can't eat mayonnaise because it is also used in cooking eggs.

Some foods, such as fish and vegetable oil, can eat only in those days of fasting, which are considered lax, although vegetable oil and has no animal origin. The ban also applies to chocolate and junk food, which a lot of fat. In a post not to consume alcoholic beverages, including beer.

Post by day of week

In some days of the week post can be more restrictive, and some, including drop-down on religious holidays, you can make some concessions. So, Monday, Wednesday and Friday – the days of strict fasting, shoedini. These days you should only eat those foods that have not been heat treated, eliminated and add vegetable oil. In the days of strict fasting you can eat only black bread, vegetables and fruit, washed down with water or unsweetened compote. If you these days will make salads, for filling you can use only lemon juice mixed with a small amount of honey.
During the fast you should not fast, especially if you indulged in food. It is fraught with problems with bile and erosive processes in the gastrointestinal tract.

Hot meals can be eaten on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but in these days add the oil prohibited. But Saturday and Sunday – days of relief when you finally can fry in vegetable oil the fish or the vegetables, add it to salads.

Proper nutrition during lent

And during the fast, your diet can be healthy. Absent in the diet of animal protein substitute products containing proteins of plant origin. First of all, the mushrooms and beans: lentils, beans, peas, chickpeas. The missing fats are found in nuts, and iron – found in apples, buckwheat, and bananas.
Remember that observing religious fasting, you should not immediately upon their completion, to fall into the sin of gluttony, it is harmful not only for the soul, but also for health.

Nursing mothers and sick people during lent are allowed to eat milk and products made from it. Those who suffer from diabetes mellitus, renal insufficiency, anemia, and weakening of the immune system allows the Church to eat meat, not considering it a sin.